In the Vanish mode, people can send each other disappearing chat messages, photos, videos, and other content. When someone leaves the chat or turns off vanish mode, content sent in vanish mode disappears. To use vanish mode on Instagram, you must update to Messenger features.
How to enable Vanish mode on Instagram
Vanish mode on Instagram is similar to Incognito Mode on the web browser; it does not keep history or chat backups after conversations are over.
When Vanish Mode is turned off, the chats in Vanish Mode are deleted automatically and they do not appear in regular chat. When vanish mode is enabled, messages, videos, photos, and other content that you send will automatically disappear once they are viewed and you leave the chat.
So yes, you can send messages in Vanish Mode on Instagram. For Instagram DM, the Vanish mode is similar to an incognito mode.
Ensure you are using the most recent version of Instagram if you wish to use Vanish Mode
Install the app on your smartphone and follow the steps:
- The first step is to open Instagram, head to DM, and select a contact you wish to chat with in Vanish Mode.
- Swipe up from the bottom of the screen to enable Vanish Mode.
- Tap the bottom of the screen again to turn off the Vanish Mode.
When I send a message in Vanish Mode, am I notified?
The Notification panel shows up in Vanish Mode like regular Instagram messages. By tapping the notification, you can enter the same chat in vanish mode.
Are vanish mode messages recoverable?
As soon as they are viewed or the chat is closed, messages disappear from Vanish Mode. There is no way to retrieve them. Please keep in mind, however, that screenshots or copy-pasted messages can always be taken.
How does Vanish Mode work?
In its Messenger and Instagram apps, Facebook has added vanish mode, allowing you to have end-to-end encrypted conversations that disappear whenever you leave the chat window.
Does Vanish Mode work on Instagram for audio and video calls?
Vanish Mode can only be used for DM messages, and it is not possible to use it for video calls or voice calls.
Is it possible to tell when someone takes a screenshot of an Instagram DM?
A notification will be sent to you if someone takes a screenshot of a disappearing DM (with Vanish Mode enabled). In regular chats, Instagram does not notify you when someone takes a screenshot. In addition, you will not be notified if a screenshot is taken of your story or post.
Is it possible for someone to see you when you turn on vanish mode?
If you choose Vanish Mode on Instagram, the other person will not know. The other person on the chat would be notified immediately if you took a screenshot of the messages in vanish mode.