Your Instagram posts will only be visible to your followers if you make your account private, and any hashtags you use will be hidden from searches. Android and iOS users can follow this tutorial on how to use Instagram.
- How To Make Your Instagram Account Private
- It is quite easy to make your profile private. Using the Instagram iPhone app, here is how to do it:
- Tap your profile icon in the lower-right corner of the screen.
- Tap Menu (three horizontal lines) in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- Tap Settings.
- Tap Privacy.
- Under Account Privacy, toggle on Private Account.
Alternatively, you can also hide select photos on Instagram if you don’t want to make your entire profile private, but just a few pictures. You can find it in the photo menu.
The process of making your profile public
After completing the steps above, return to the Account Privacy screen and toggle Private Account off again if you wish your profile to be visible again. You will also be set to private by default if you are 16 or under when you create your Instagram account. If you want everyone to be able to see your feed, you’ll need to turn off the privacy setting manually.
Can I tag a user or add a hashtag to an Instagram post when my profile is set to profile? Is it still visible to people?
You will only be able to see it if you follow other users. The privacy of a post is not overridden by tagging other users or putting a hashtag in the description. Anyone who does not follow you already will not be able to see it.
Is it possible to share an Instagram post on another social network site when my profile is private?
Shared posts will be publicly accessible as standalone posts on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr, and other social networks. If someone views it and clicks on the Instagram permalink, they can view it in full. If they click on your username, however, they cannot see your other content unless they are already following you.
Is it possible for someone to see my posts if they follow me while my profile is private?
You must approve them first. A follow request message is sent when a user taps the Follow button on a private profile. As a result, if someone follows you, they won’t be able to see any of your content until you manually approve their request.
I don’t want someone to follow me anymore. Is there a way to get rid of this person?
Block the account of someone who is following you to prevent them from following you. If you want to remove their account from your followers list, open their profile, tap the three dots in the top-right corner, and then tap Block User. The account holder may need to be reported if they behave inappropriately.